BASIDIOMYCETE PHYLOGENY

Return to Duke Mycology HomePage

Basidiomycete phylogeny researchers and research interests 
Bibliography: fungal phylogeny

Related sites (additions welcome):

IMC7 home page (Oslo, Norway, Aug 2002)
IMC6 home page (Jerusalem, Aug 23-28, 1998)
The Tree of Life: Basidiomycota
The Tree of Life: Ustilaginomycetes
The Tree of Life: Ascomycota
Phylogeny of the Agaricales (Duke University)
Phylogenetic studies in Tom Bruns' Lab (Univ. California, Berkeley)
University of Tübingen: Botany and Mycology (Germany)
Fungal mitochondtrial genome project (F. Lang)
Zoosporic fungi on line
Mycological Resources on the Internet (mother of all mycology web sites)

List of basidiomycete phylogeny researchers and research interests

This is only a partial list, and still very incomplete. If you would like to add (or remove) your name or make any corrections to this list, please send an e-mail to R. Vilgalys (fungi@duke.edu) with a brief summary of your research interests, research papers, web links, etc.
Name taxonomic group e-mail, web sites
Aime, Cathie (Virginia Tech) Crepidotaceae maime@vt.edu
Baroni, Timothy (SUNY Cortland) Entolomataceae baronitj@SNYCORVA.CORTLAND.EDU
Bauer, Robert (Tubingen) Uredinio- and Ustilaginomycetes robert.bauer@uni-tuebingen.de
Begerow, Dominik (Tubingen, Germany) Smuts and smut-like fungi dominik.begerow@uni-tuebingen.de
Binder, Manfred (Germany) Agaricales, Boletales Manfred.Binder@biologie.uni-regensburg.de
Boekhout, Teun (Netherlands) filamentous and yeast-like basidiomycetes T.Boekhout@STM.Tudelft.nl
Bresinsky, A.(Germany) Boletales  
Bruns, Tom (USA) Boletales, mycorrhizal fungi boletus@socrates.berkeley.edu, http://plantbio.berkeley.edu/%7Ebruns
Buchanan, Peter (Landcare Research, Auckland, NZ) Polyporaceae buchananp@landcare.cri.nz
Buyck, Bart (Museum Nat. History, Paris) Russulaceae buyck@cimrs1.mnhn.fr
Clemençon, H. (Lausanne) Agaricales Heinz.Clemencon@ibsg.unil.ch
Cripps, Cathy (Montana State Univ)  Agaricales bachmancripps@msn.com
Desjardin, Dennis (San Fransisco State) Agaricales ded@sfsu.edu
Fell, Jack (Univ. Miami, Key Biscayne) basidiomycetous yeasts jfell@rsmas.miami.edu
Fisher, Michael (Germany) Boletales, Agaricales michael.fischer@biologie.uni-regensburg.de
Fonseca, Álvaro (Lisbon, Portugal) basidiomycetous yeasts amrf@mail.fct.unl.pt
Gulden, Gro (Norway) Tricholomataceae, Galerina gro.gulden@toyen.uio.no
Hallenberg, Nils (Sweden) Corticiaceae Nils.Hallenberg@systbot.gu.se
Hibbett, David S. (Clark Univ.) Homobasidiomycetes dhibbett@black.clarku.edu
Hiratsuka, Yasu (Canadian Forest Service, Alberta) Urediniomycetes yahirats@nrcan.gc.ca
Hofstetter, Valerie (Lausanne) Agaricales valerie.hofstetter@urbanet.ch
Høiland, Klaus (Norway) Boletales, Cortinariaceae Klaus.Hoiland@bio.uio.no
Horak, Egon (Switzerland) Agarlicales horak@umnw.ethz.ch
Hughes, Karen (Univ. Tennessee) Agaricales, Clavicorona khughes@utk.edu, http://fp.bio.utk.edu/mycology/
Johnson, Jim (Duke Univ.) Agaricales, Xeromphalina decay@duke.edu, http://funnelweb.utcc.utk.edu/~jjohnson/
Kwon-Chung, June (NIH) heterobasidiomycetes JKCHUNG@atlas.niaid.nih.gov
Kuyper, Thomas (Netherlands) Agaricales Thom.Kuyper@STAF.BSW.WAU.NL
Langer, Ewald (Germany) corticioid fungi ewald.langer@uni-tuebingen.de
Langer, Gita (Germany) corticioid fungi gitta.langer@uni-tuebingen.de
Larsson, Ellen (Sweden) corticioid fungi ellen.larsson@systbot.gu.se
Larsson, Karl-Henrik (Sweden) coriticioid fungi Karl-Henrik.Larsson@systbot.gu.se
Lutzoni, François (Field Mus., Chicago) lichenized basidiomycetes lutzoni@fmppr.fmnh.org
McLaughlin, David (Univ. Minnesota) basidiomycete systematics davem@puccini.crl.umn.edu
Miller, Orson K., Jr. (Virginia Tech) Agaricales, Gasteromycetes 102717.3165@compuserve.com , http://www.biol.vt.edu/facultypages/miller/mycology.html
Miller, Steve (Univ. Wyoming) Russulales fungi@uwyo.edu
Moncalvo, Jean Marc (Duke Univ.) Agaricales, Polyporaceae jeanmarc@duke.edu
Mueller, Greg (Field Museum, Chicago) Agaricales mueller@fmppr.fmnh.org
Neto, Aristóteles Góes (Brazil) Hymenochaetales goesneto@svn.com.br
Norvell, Lorelei (Pacific Northwest Mycology Service, Portland Oregon) Agaricales lorelei@teleport.com
Oberwinkler, Franz (Germany) Basidiomycetes franz.oberwinkler@uni-tuebingen.de
Parmasto, Erast (Estonia) corticioid fungi e.parmasto@zbi.ee
Petersen, Ronald (Univ. Tennesee) Agaricales repete@utk.edu, http://fp.bio.utk.edu/mycology/
Pine, Elizabeth (UC-Berkeley) cantherelloid and coral fungi pine@nature.berkeley.edu
Prillinger, Hansjörg (Vienna) basidiomycetous yeasts H.Prillinger@iam.boku.ac.at, Institute of Applied Microbiology/
Redhead, Scott (Ottawa, Canada) Agaricales REDHEADS@EM.AGR.CA
Rehner, Stephen (Univ. Puerto Rico) attine symbionts srehner@worldnet.att.net
Rogers, Scott (SUNY-Syracuse) Cortinariaceae sorogers@mailbox.syr.edu
Ryvarden, Leif (Norway) Polyporaceae leif.ryvarden@bio.uio.no
Spatafora, Joseph (Oregon State Univ.) homobasidiomycetes spatafoj@ava.bcc.orst.edu
Stalpers, Joost (Netherlands) basidiomycetes stalpers@pc.cbs.knaw.nl
Sugiyama, J. (Japan) basidiomycetes jsugi@tansei.cc.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Swann, Eric (Univ. Minnesota) basidiomycetes erics@puccini.crl.umn.edu
Thorne, R. Greg (Univ. Wyoming) Agaricales thorn@UWYO.EDU
Vilgalys, Rytas (Duke Univ.) Agaricales fungi@duke.edu
Watling, Roy (Scotland) Agaricales R.Watling@rbge.org.uk

return to top of this page